Good Sex Awards To Honor Authors Writing About Consent, Feminism and Body Positivity


The inaugural Good Sex Awards has launched to promote progressive, feminist and diverse representations of sexuality in fiction and nonfiction.

Erotica author and editor Rachel Kramer Bussel and sex positive story website The Good Bits are proud to announce that submissions are now open for the Awards.

The awards are being judged by an international panel of authors, educators, media personalities and other sex-positive professionals, with winners presenting forward-thinking portrayals of consent and body positivity.

“Too often, writing about sex is treated with disdain or mockery—or both. I’m so glad that this award will help shine a light on writers who are giving sex the quality treatment it deserves,” said Bussel, editor of over 70 anthologies, including the Best Women’s Erotica of the Year series.

The Good Bits co-founder Carol Battle says, “There has never been a better time to recognise and applaud positive representations of sex.  Writings about sex help define our sexual narrative, and the evolution of power dynamics and expressions of consent in sex writing are important signs of social change. Together with an esteemed panel of judges, we’ll be seek to reward writing that not only fascinates and titilates, but is consensual, feminist, and diverse.”

Our panel of 35 judges includes Clementine Ford, broadcaster and bestselling author of Fight Like a Girl; Cindy Gallop, founder and CEO of MakeLoveNotPorn, Karen Hawkins, co-host, Feminist Erotica podcast, reviewer Bree Hill, Emily Nagoski, author of New York Times bestseller Come As You Are, Stoya, co-founder of and Slate’s “How To Do It” columnist, and Zane, New York Times bestselling author of Addicted and publisher of Strebor Books, as well as reviewers, entertainers, sex educators and authors.

Awards will be granted in the following categories: Sexiest Consent, Best Feminist Sex, Best Sexy Talk, Best LGBTQI Scene, Best Kink, Best Use of Sex Toys, Best Thought Leadership (nonfiction) and Readers’ Choice.

Authors or publishers are welcome to submit previously published work via now through May 16. Award winners will be announced at the end of June and celebrated with an event by media partner Frolic Media. Winners will receive a cash prize of $150.

Sponsors include Lovehoney, FlyDuo and Bellesa and media partner Frolic Media.

Visit or contact for further information or to arrange an interview.


Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author


Faerie–Featuring Books that Get Us Excited


Witch-Centered Books to Read All Year Long

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top