Love YA: Top 3 Y.A. Reads for the Week of December 31st!

Love YA: Top 3 Y.A. Reads for the Week of December 31st!
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Before the ball drops, here are some books that you can read before, while or after celebrating the end of 2019.

Enjoy the synopsis for some amazing books that have recently come out that I recommend and let us know what books you are most looking forward to reading in 2020 for a chance to have the books featured in LOVA YA!

Crying Laughing by Lance Rubin

Winnie Friedman has been waiting for the world to catch on to what she already knows: she’s hilarious.

It might be a long wait, though. After bombing a stand-up set at her own bat mitzvah, Winnie has kept her jokes to herself. Well, to herself and her dad, a former comedian and her inspiration.

Then, on the second day of tenth grade, the funniest guy in school actually laughs at a comment she makes in the lunch line and asks her to join the improv troupe. Maybe he’s even . . . flirting?

Just when Winnie’s ready to say yes to comedy again, her father reveals that he’s been diagnosed with ALS. That is . . . not funny. Her dad’s still making jokes, though, which feels like a good thing. And Winnie’s prepared to be his straight man if that’s what he wants. But is it what he needs?

Caught up in a spiral of epically bad dates, bad news, and bad performances, Winnie’s struggling to see the humor in it all. But finding a way to laugh is exactly what will see her through. 

The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

Fake by Donna Cooner

From acclaimed author Donna Cooner comes this gripping and timely story about identity, revenge, and the lies — and truths — we tell online. 
Maisie Fernandez is fed up. Fed up with the bullies who taunt her about her size and her looks. Fed up with being the butt of everyone’s jokes.

So, one night, Maisie goes online and creates a fake profile. “Sienna” is beautiful, skinny, and confident — and soon she’s messaging the most popular kids in Maisie’s school. Maisie doesn’t care about being friends with them. She wants to use Sienna to take them down.

But as Maisie’s web of deception grows, she’s in danger of being exposed. And what will happen when the actual Sienna — the girl whose photos Maisie has been using — shows up in real life? 

What romantic and intriguing YA reads are you looking forward to? Let us know on Twitter or IG (@onfrolic) for a chance to have them featured in #LoveYA.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

the light in the lake by Sarah R. Baughman

Sarah R. Baughman: “Her struggle to balance a commitment to science and logic with a feeling of magic, are very relatable for me.”

Top Entertainment News for the New Year!

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top