New Adult Corner: Top Picks for August

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email
Discretion by Karina Halle

From New York Times bestselling author Karina Halle comes a delicious saga of wealth, luxury, and scandal—and the wicked secrets of success behind an envied family dynasty.

The Riviera means indulgence—if you’ve got money. For Sadie Reynolds, a down-on-her-luck student, the Riviera means dingy hostels and back streets. When a wrong turn puts her in jeopardy, the last thing she expects is to be saved by the most handsome stranger she’s ever locked eyes with. When she later wakes up in a luxury suite with a Mediterranean view, she’s in the tender care of her rescuer: Olivier Dumont, France’s most eligible bachelor, billionaire hotelier, and heir to the Dumont fashion fortune.

Olivier also owns his reputation for scandal. But Sadie is unlike any woman he’s ever met. Her humble persona and wild innocence promise real passion. He’s promising Sadie something too: anything she wants. From Bordeaux to Cannes to Paris, Sadie’s past in America is swept away and replaced with a fantasy too good to be true.

Pulled into Olivier’s orbit of wealth, glamour, and excess, Sadie discovers that the Dumont dynasty comes with a legacy of wicked secrets. And Olivier’s secrets may be the most damning of all…

Discretion by Karina Halle is the first in a new series, The Dumonts. The icons of a worldwide brand, The Dumonts are clothed in secrecy. Sadie is on a backpacking trip across Europe, when she runs into some trouble. Olivier, our hero, happens to be at the right place at the right time and this classic meet-cute spurns a decadent love story about electric chemistry, family mysteries and a tragedy that changes everything. This story is what fantasies are made of. There’s an overall story arc that I cannot wait to discover through the rest of the books but each book is a standalone.

Bad Apple by Elle Kennedy

A flirty standalone novel* from New York Times and international bestselling author Elle Kennedy!

One night with him will change her life…

Between her waitressing job, volunteer work, and college classes, there are never enough hours in Maggie Reilly’s day. Especially not for a relationship. Luckily, she’s got the perfect arrangement: a lover she meets three or four times a year. But when she shows up at the hotel expecting to hop into bed with one man, she accidentally ends up with another—Ben Barrett, Hollywood’s most notorious bad boy.

Ben, determined to lay low after another scandal, just wants some much-needed sleep. What he gets is a scorching make-out session with a gorgeous, naked redhead. He won’t accept her apology, but what he will accept is a place to hide out…and if there’s some hot, no-strings sex involved, why the heck not?

But Ben soon discovers that one week with his sassy, bed-hopping waitress is definitely not enough. He wants more. A lot more.

Now he needs to convince relationship-averse Maggie that a bad boy might be oh so good for her—and the best thing that’s ever happened to both of them.

* Previously published in 2008, Bad Apple (formerly Midnight Encounters) features almost entirely new content, including a point-of-view switch. Enjoy this new version of an old favorite!

Bad Apple by Elle Kennedy is a rewrite that includes new details, characters and a revamp. It’s classic romance of a girl that’s down on her luck who meets a famous actor. The first meeting between them is so epic. I laughed my way through it but it’s also one of the hottest scenes in the book. From their first meeting, our hero cannot stop thinking about the heroine. She is an enigma, everything he’s not used to. Maggie has never come across someone like Ben and this is an opposites attract story that sweeps you off your feet.

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai

Alisha Rai returns with the first book in her sizzling new Modern Love series, in which two rival dating app creators find themselves at odds in the boardroom but in sync in the bedroom.

Rhiannon Hunter may have revolutionized romance in the digital world, but in real life she only swipes right on her career—and the occasional hookup. The cynical dating app creator controls her love life with a few key rules:

– Nude pics are by invitation only

– If someone stands you up, block them with extreme prejudice  

– Protect your heart

Only there aren’t any rules to govern her attraction to her newest match, former pro-football player Samson Lima. The sexy and seemingly sweet hunk woos her one magical night… and disappears.

Rhi thought she’d buried her hurt over Samson ghosting her, until he suddenly surfaces months later, still big, still beautiful—and in league with a business rival. He says he won’t fumble their second chance, but she’s wary. A temporary physical partnership is one thing, but a merger of hearts? Surely that’s too high a risk…

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai is a book that delivers lessons. In the current #metoo climate, it meets this movement and its challengers head on. There were many things I loved about this book. Our main characters were people of color and I don’t often highlight this but I should, as a person of color it’s refreshing to read characters I can relate to. I loved the workplace aspect of it. Our heroine is the developer of a dating app and our hero is an ex football player who is processing recent devastation. There were a lot of honest, open conversations here. Our hero also combats the stigma of CTE in football players. I learned so much from this book, while also diving into a steamy, hot romance. The Right Swipe delivers a fast-paced modern romance that packs more than just heat.

On the Corner of Love and Hate by Nina Bocci

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter. 

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

On the Corner of Love and Hate by Nina Bocci is the cutest small town romance. It’s a romance rife with small town politics and a mayoral race that turns the town upside down. The town reminds me of Stars Hollow with its band of quirky characters. The town lives and breathes and is the perfect background for our enemies to lovers. There is so much angst between the two. It lives and breathes in the pages as they end up fighting the same fight but with very different techniques. It was a charming story. I can’t wait to read more about this town!

What are you ending your summer with?

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

Daily Frolic: Teens are “Fake Casting” Each Other in Musicals and It’s Wholesome AF

Supernatural Episodes That Won’t Make You Cry, But Laugh!

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top