Pintip Dunn, L. Penelope and Tracey Livesay Bring the Love!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Hi Frolic! I’m back, but this time I’m not writing about Outlander_Starz. That might take another year! What’s on my mind now are books, and my genre-hopping soul is thrilled to be here to chat about my passion: BOOKS! BOOKS! BOOKS! And I read everything, and love so much of what I read, I wanted to share my TBR shelf once a month with Frolic, and I hope you enjoy the ride.

 

A few ground rules: I am serious about genre-hopping. I guarantee that any book to make it to my shelf has a love story. I love, love. And those are the books that grab me. This month, there are three new releases I am so excited about and can’t wait to share them with you!  

 

Also, I asked each author similar questions – about tropes and binge-watching. So, I’ll answer my questions first—I love secret babies, and I am binge-watching The Flash on The CWand I am in love with that freaking show!

 

So, buckle up, and grab your TBR list. These authors are bringing the LOVE!

Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn

Release date: August 18 (you can buy it now!!)

Genre: Contemporary Romance – Young Adult

(Description provided by publisher)

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of the dating practice that they didn’t get in high school.

In a shocking war on the status quo, her parents now insist that their youngest daughter, Orrawin (aka “Winnie”), must practice fake dating in high school. Under their watchful eyes, of course—and organized based on their favorite rom-coms. ’Cause that won’t end in disaster.

The first candidate? The son of their longtime friends, Mat Songsomboon—arrogant, infuriating, and way too good-looking. Winnie’s known him since they were toddlers throwing sticky rice balls at each other. And her parents love him.

If only he weren’t her sworn enemy.

What you should know about Pintip:

A first-generation Thai American, Pintip Dunn is a two-time RITA® award winner and a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fiction. @pintipdunn

Denny: What’s your favorite trope to read? What’s your favorite trope to write—and does either one get some love in your new release?

Pintip: I adore reading stories with the enemies-to-lovers and fake dating tropes. I love writing the sparks that fly between enemies-to-lovers characters. Both tropes are featured in Dating Makes Perfect – with friends-to-lovers thrown in for good measure! 

Denny: What was your favorite part about writing Dating Makes Perfect

Pintip: I loved, loved, loved writing a story with a Thai heroine, a Thai hero, another Thai love interest, Thai twin sisters, and Thai parents. With the exception of Winnie’s best friend, Kavya (who is Konkani), every main character in this book is Thai.

This story is for the teenage me — and for every other teenager who feels like they don’t belong. I wish I could go back in time and tell twelve-year-old Pintip, “Your story matters, too. Your existence has value. Your difference is something to be celebrated and embraced.” I can’t, and so this book is the next best thing. 

Denny: What are you binge watching now and what beverage do you recommend readers enjoy while devouring your new release!

Pintip: The last show I binge-watched was “Sex Education.” If my reader is 21+, then I recommend they drink a mojito on the rocks. If they are under 21, then I would suggest a blended pineapple iced drink (the first thing my husband learned to order in Thailand!) 

Cry of Metal & Bone by L. Penelope

Release date: August 11, 2020 (so go on and grab it, now!)

Genre: Fantasy Romance – Adult

(Description provided by publisher)

In the vein of K. Arsenault Rivera and V.E. Schwab comes the newest epic fantasy book in the stunning Earthsinger Chronicles.

Six weeks after the fall of the Mantle, centuries-old enemies Elsira and Lagrimar struggle to unite. The will of the goddess is that the two nations become one, but while the war may be over, peace is still elusive. As desperate Lagrimari flee their barren land for a chance at a better life in Elsira, a dangerous faction opposed to the unification rises.

When a shadowy group with ties to the Elsiran government takes responsibility for the attack and promises more, an unlikely crew is assembled to investigate. Among them are Lizvette Nirall, a disgraced socialite seeking redemption for past mistakes, and Tai Summerhawk, a foreign smuggler determined to keep a promise he made to a dead man. Powerful Earthsinger Darvyn ol-Tahlyro is sent with a secret assignment, one that Queen Jasminda can’t know about. And in a prison far away, Kyara ul-Lagrimar searches for a way to escape her captors and save a family long thought dead.

It’s a race against time in this world of deadly magic, secret agendas and court intrigue to discover those responsible for the bombing before the next attack. And in another land a new enemy awakens—one that will strike terror into the hearts of gods and men.

What you should know about L. Penelope.

Award-winning fantasy and romance author L. Penelope has been writing since she could hold a pen and loves getting lost in the worlds in her head. @leslyepenelope

Denny: What’s your favorite trope to read? What’s your favorite trope to write—and does either one get some love in your new release:)?

Leslye: Enemies to lovers is definitely my favorite trope to read. I love the tension between the hero and heroine and watching them reluctantly fall for each other. When it comes to writing, I’m a big fan of opposites attract. They’re similar tropes, but I personally find it difficult to actually write true enemies. Cry of Metal & Bone features a love story between two very opposite people from completely different worlds. Both have to change a bit and become more flexible before they can find love.

Denny: Can you start the series with Cry of Metal & Bone?

Leslye: I wouldn’t recommend it. I’ve heard some reviewers say that this book works as a standalone, and I do try to make things understandable, especially if it’s been a while since you’ve visited the world of the Earthsinger Chronicles, but I advise reading the books in order. Including the prequel novellas which go in between each novel. The reading order is on my website. But I also applaud those who want to live dangerously and dive right into the middle! Swim safely!

Denny: What are you binge watching now and what beverage do you recommend readers enjoy while devouring your new release!

I recently finished watching The Great on Hulu and absolutely adored it! It’s an “occasionally true story” about Catherine the Great and her quest to become the ruler of Russia. Funny and shocking and a little heartbreaking, it’s a great watch. As for beverages, I always enjoy a good cup of tea and think it’s the perfect thing to drink while reading. My recommendation is jasmine green tea, but whatever works for you is great!

Like Lovers Do by Tracey Livesay

Release date: August 25

Genre: Romance

(Description from the Publisher)

Sometimes faking it can lead to the real thing…

Driven and focused, Dr. Nicole Allen is an accomplished surgeon. With a tough past, Nic’s gone above and beyond everyone’s expectations. But when she disciplines an intern—a powerful donor’s son—a prestigious fellowship she’s awaiting is placed in jeopardy. 

Coming from a successful family who runs a medical business empire, Benjamin Reed Van Mont is the black sheep, having chosen to start his own business instead. Though he’s not ready to settle down, he knows when the time comes it definitely won’t be with a workaholic doctor like his friend Nic—even if she’s had him re-examining his edict…more than once. 

When Ben’s status-climbing ex-girlfriend finds her way back into his orbit, Nic proposes a swap of services. She’ll spend the week with Ben on Martha’s Vineyard, pretending to be his girlfriend—but only if he’ll have his family intervene on her behalf so she won’t lose her fellowship. How hard can the charade be? 

But as they’re about to discover, they’ve sorely underestimated their true feelings for each other…

What you should know about Tracey?

Tracey Livesay is an award-winning author who writes smart, sexy and emotional interracial contemporary romances. @tlivesay

Denny: What’s your favorite trope to read? What’s your favorite trope to write—and does either one get some love in your new release:)?

Tracey: I love marriage of convenience and fake relationship tropes, especially in contemporary romance. I love when the characters are forced to act as if they’re in love, even when they’re not ready to admit it to themselves. And yes, this trope just happens to find its way into Like Lovers Do! 😉

Denny: What do you like best about Nic & Ben’s relationship?

Tracey: I like how Ben is never intimidated by Nic or her ambition. Even when he’s thinking that he can’t be with her because of it, he still supports her and respects who she is as a person. She’s a strong person and he loves her because of that. He doesn’t try to change or dilute her personality.

Denny: What are you binge watching now and what beverage do you recommend readers enjoy while devouring your new release!

Tracey: I just finished binge watching The Order on Netflix and have started The Umbrella Academy. As you’re reading Like Lovers Do, I’d recommend having whichever naughty-named drink is your favorite: Sex on the Beach, Slippery Nipple, etc. You’ll see why as you keep reading the book! 

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

Alex Rosa Cover Reveal

Exclusive: Unwritten by Alex Rosa Cover Reveal

Nonfiction, No Problem! Nonfiction Titles to Add to Your TBR

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top