Timeless Holiday Romance Recommendations by Dana Volney

HolidayLEAD
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

[Note from Frolic: We’re so excited to welcome author Dana Volney to the site today. She;s sharing some of her favorite Holiday magic with us. Take it away, Dana!]

I love holiday stories because of the inherent joy that comes from that special time of year. Book, show, movie—I am here for it! There is a pureness to a story set during the holidays with the snow, merry spirit in the air, and all the delicious treats. That is what I had in mind when I started writing my own holiday romances in Holiday Hearts and Kisses for Christmas. I set them in my hometown, Casper, Wyoming and then fell in love with this endearing group of friends and family searching for love (whether they knew it or not!). And just like in all the best holiday novels and films, the characters find themselves in all kinds of tropetastic scenarios where the magic of the season sets sparks a-sizzling! Check out some of my favorite recommendations for your holiday watching and viewing pleasure:

While You Were Sleeping Movie Poster

While You Were Sleeping is my all-time, will-watch-over-and-over, favorite movie. It is so innocent how Sandra Bullock’s character Lucy gets sucked into the world of the Callaghan family after saving the life of Peter. And then a misunderstanding (don’t you just love that nurse?!) leads to the family thinking she’s Peter’s fiancée. Jack, played by Bill Pullman, and Lucy have the best banter throughout—who can forget the infamous “leaning” scene? I absolutely love the loud and loving Callaghan clan—exuberant, believable, and so very endearing. The same chaotic good Christmas high jinks are found in one of my favorite holiday reads, All Through the Night by Suzanne Brockmann. The long-awaited twelfth installment of her wildly popular Troubleshooters romantic suspense series saw FBI Agent Jules and Hollywood hot shot Robin finally trying to quietly elope…but an unexpected parade of the men’s boisterous family and friends, a leaky ceiling, and even an attic full of bats conspire to add chaos to the festivities.

The Last Holiday Movie Poster

Are you a fan of The Last Holiday starring Queen Latifah (who isn’t??)? When Georgia, Queen Latifah, discovers she doesn’t have long to live, she decides to make her book of “possibilities” a present-day adventure. And who could blame her? I certainly want to live out my dreams and goals now instead of waiting! Want a book that makes YOU want to live life with no regrets? Check out All I Want For Christmas by Jenny Hale. Leah and David, best friends as kids but strangers as adults, are forced into splitting a house but instead their hearts might just be made whole. Turn your fire place on for this one (or the Netflix fireplace screen, hehe) and cuddle up with hot chocolate to be taken on a magical holiday journey.

Holiday in Handcuffs Movie Poster

Have you watched Melissa Joan Hart and Mario Lopez in the modern TV movie classic, Holiday in Handcuffs? If not, you should! It’s one of my classic go-tos during the holidays with lots of spunk, wit, and just a little playful kidnapping. (Melissa’s Trudie is bringing home a boyfriend for Christmas by any means possible! Good thing Mario’s David decides to play along only to fall for Trudie and her family.) For even more spunk and wit, minus the kidnapping, try Janet Evanovich’s Visions of Sugar Plums: A Stephanie Plum Holiday Novel. Stephanie Plum has a patented humor that comes with all of her fugitive apprehension madness. I love her world and how she kicks-butt while managing the chaos that is her life (which often makes me laugh out loud). Celebrate the holiday season Jersey-style with sexy mystery man Diesel, Grandma Mazur’s antics, and plenty of plastic reindeer.

The holidays can be tough, no doubt, but when hope is in the air, love is sure to follow! 

May your holiday season be merry and bright!

About the Author:

Dana Volney lets her imagination roam free in Wyoming where she writes romances and helps local businesses succeed with her marketing consulting company. Holiday Hearts and Kisses for Christmas are her newest releases, holiday anthologies containing six romance novellas, available now from Canelo at all ebook retailers: https://www.canelo.co/authors/dana-volney/.

Holiday Hearts by Dana Volney, out now!

Love is in the air this Christmas, but will they take a chance on romance?

The December Deal
Lilia Carrigan is under pressure to raise money for her dad’s cancer treatment. Wealthy Vincent Morgenstern has to marry in order to inherit the company he loves so much. A marriage of convenience solves both their problems, but as Lilia and Vincent fake their way through events, holding hands and kisses, will their December deal stay professional or will real feelings ruin everything?

A Heart for the Holidays

Silver Morgenstern is a hospital administrator who can’t understand why Fisher Tibbs would request to be removed from the heart donation list. She’s determined to convince this big-hearted charity founder with so much to give that life is worth the fight. What she doesn’t expect is that the heart that’s saved just might be her own…

December Deception
High-powered lawyer Henry Hale is dreading his exuberant family’s holiday celebrations. His co-worker, Lorelai Sullivan, jumps at the chance to be a buffer at Henry’s family events and prove she’s partner-worthy in the law firm. Can a little holiday magic bring the two workaholic legal eagles together for more than just business?

Warm yourself up with these three small-town novellas, published for the first time in one HEA-guaranteed Christmas collection. Perfect for fans of Jenny Hale and Karen Swan.

More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

MeteorLEAD

Diverse Book Corner: If You Love a Good Underdog Story, Read Miss Meteor

ThanksgivingLEAD

Perfect Thanksgiving Wines by Helen Hardt

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top