What to Read After Watching Miss Americana

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

There’s only one word to describe how I felt after watching Miss Americana, the new documentary following Taylor Swift’s life: grateful. I’m grateful for her making music since I’m such a huge fan, I’m grateful that I’m not in her shoes, and I’m grateful that she uses her platform for good. Maybe she’ll finally get the recognition she deserves for being a super cool, badass, authentic, emotional, dramatic wonder of a woman (a girl can dream right?). You know what else I’m grateful for? Romance novels! Which is why the following books pair so well with some of the revelations and themes of Taylor Swift’s Miss Americana.

99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

One of the sweetest moments in Miss Americana is when Taylor is playing an acoustic version of Call It What You Want sitting on her living room floor, being filmed by who we can only assume to be her boyfriend, Joe Alwyn. Taylor discusses falling in love with her best friend on her album Lover, which is why you should definitely check out 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne. It has everything you could want out of a friends-to-lovers romance, from sex and comedy, to forbidden flings and brotherly love. Also, who doesn’t love a good home makeover trope?!

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Taylor tackles feeling negative thoughts about herself and her body, and even admits that she suffers with an eating disorder that she manages every day. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen incorporates similar themes as well as a sweet romance with a music-obsessed boy tangled into this beautiful, complicated story. Just be warned that the tears will be flowing by the end of this book, so keep that tissue box close by!

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai

Taylor proves time and time again that she really is The Man. She runs a huge management team, has millions of adoring fans, speaks up for what she believes in, and makes killer album after killer album to boot. She is the definition of a Boss, which is why you should all read The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai. This romance is sexy and smart, featuring a badass boss of a main character Rhiannon, the CEO of a popular dating app. When her competitor snags former pro-football player (& former flame) Samson as their poster boy, she reconnects with him with the intention of a no-strings-attached fling. And of course we all know how well those turn out, amirite? Something tells me Taylor and Rhiannon would get along just fine.

Asking for It by Louise O’Neill

This next book isn’t a romance novel, but if we learned one thing from Miss Americana, it’s that speaking up about violence against women is so so important. Taylor went through a groundbreaking sexual assault trial and won for a symbolic $1. The book Asking For It by Louise O’Neill tells the story of a young girl raped at a party, and the aftermath of that event. It’s a powerful read with a clear message that women should be believed. It’s a message that Taylor is passionate about and one that you should be passionate about too.

Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

You Need To Calm Down is a certified bop, so I have to throw in some love for the queer community here. Taylor films her iconic music video with the help of a few of her famous LGBTQ+ friends during the doc, speaking up about her passion for human rights and the fight against hate. Red, White & Royal Blue pairs two of the world’s most powerful men together: the first son of the United States, and the Prince of England. They go from enemies to lovers in this super fun love story that is bound to make you swoon, even from across the pond.

Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

As we all know, there is a major political divide happening in the world right now, and one of the rawest moments in the documentary is when Taylor is fighting for her right to raise her political voice with her team. If you love being involved in politics, but need a moment to breathe from time-to-time, check out Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed’s new romance novel Yes No Maybe So. It’s about two teens from very different backgrounds with very different personalities hitting the campaign trail together, and maybe even falling in love while they’re at it!

Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Now, this might not seem like a major theme in the film since Taylor is not married (as far as we know) nor does she discuss marriage. HOWEVER, a few sneaky fans snagged screenshots where she’s wearing what is assumed to be an engagement ring, fueling rumors that began with her Lover album drop which includes several songs and lyrics regarding weddings and marriage. I’m impartial to all the drama, but I do LOVE a great wedding romance. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren features two reluctant travel partners thrown together when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning, leaving the maid of honor and best man to take the honeymoon of a lifetime together. The catch? They can’t stand each other… or can they? Pick up the book and find out!

Did you love Miss Americana? Let us know in the comments!

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

1 thought on “What to Read After Watching Miss Americana”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

Favorite Fake Relationships in Rom-Com Movies by Erin McCarthy

Favorite Fake Relationships in Rom Com Movies by Erin McCarthy

Lilian and the Irresistible Duke by Virginia Heath

Book of the Week: Lilian and the Irresistible Duke by Virginia Heath

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top