What to Read If You Loved The Queen’s Gambit by Teri Wilson

QueensGambitLEAD
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

[Note from Frolic: We’re so excited to have author Teri Wilson back on the site today. If you loved The Queen’s Gambit as much as she did, read on!]

Netflix recently announced that their new amazingly stylish and poignant chess-centered drama, The Queen’s Gambit, is smashing viewership records. We totally get it. What’s not to love? It’s a female-centered story about a troubled young orphan who also happens to be a chess prodigy. We follow her from the basement of an orphanage where the stoic janitor first teaches her how to play, and then all over the globe as she overcomes loss and addiction to become one of the best chess players in the world. Whether you’ve been playing chess all your life or know absolutely nothing about the game (*raises hand*), you will fall in love with Anya Taylor-Joy as Beth Harmon. And don’t even get me started on the fashion—so many of Beth’s outfits reference either chess or a chessboard in some way. The attention to detail is mind-blowing.

If you loved this show as much as we did, you might want to check out these five romance novels that also incorporate the theme of chess into their storytelling:

The Girl He Used to Know by Tracey Garvis Graves

The Girl He Used to Know is a second-chance romance between a hero and heroine who met as college students in the campus chess club. Annika Rose feels more comfortable in the world of book and chess than she does interacting with people (sound familiar?). Jonathan is her perfect match and you will root for this couple every step of the way!

Queen Move by Kennedy Ryan

There are indeed a few actual chess games in Kennedy Ryan’s latest installment in her All The King’s Men series, but the chess references are also symbolic as we follow the journey of Kimba, a complex and strong heroine who is definitely a queen in her own right.  

74 Seaside Avenue by Debbie Macomber

If you’re a sweet romance fan, Debbie Macomber’s 74 Seaside Avenue—with its famous chess champion hero, Bobby Polger—is the chess romance for you! This is classic Debbie Macomber at her best. #queen 

Pawn by Molly Joseph 

Oh my goodness—this book! It’s a bodyguard romance meets Queen’s Gambit, and it’s every bit as amazing as that sounds. Bonus points for having a female international chess star.

This Duchess of Mine by Eloisa James

Two words: naked chess. Yes, you heard me. 

If you haven’t watched The Queen’s Gambit yet, what are you waiting for!?

About the Author:

Teri Wilson is a Publishers Weekly bestselling author of romance, women’s fiction and romantic comedy. Three of Teri’s books have been adapted into Hallmark Channel Original Movies by Crown Media, including UNLEASHING MR. DARCY (plus its sequel MARRYING MR. DARCY), THE ART OF US and NORTHERN LIGHTS OF CHRISTMAS, based on her book SLEIGH BELL SWEETHEARTS. She is also a recipient of the prestigious RITA Award for excellence in romantic fiction for her novel THE BACHELOR’S BABY SURPRISE. Teri has a major weakness for cute animals, pretty dresses and Audrey Hepburn films, and she loves following the British royal family. Visit her at www.teriwilson.net or on Instagram at @TeriWilsonAuthor.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

More
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

Enjoyed this post?

Frolic F Logo

STAY IN THE KNOW

DISCUSSION

1 thought on “What to Read If You Loved The Queen’s Gambit by Teri Wilson”

  1. Thank you! I now have some good reads ahead of me as I LOVED the Queens Gambit and Teri Wilson’s recommendations!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About The Author

InvisibleWomanLEAD

Exclusive: The Invisible Woman by Erika Robuck First Look

Frolic Podcast Network Weekly Wrap-up!

Weekend Podcast Guide: 10 Things I Hate About You and More!

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Scroll to Top